There’s a reason Olive Oyl loved Popeye

Standard

It certainly wasn’t because of his tall stature, his flowing head of hair, or his love of clean air (note the ever present pipe). It was because of his muscles and his affinity for spinach, of course! Popeye made his debut in 1929 and even way back then, it was pretty well known that spinach was good for you. Even then, the entertainment industry subliminally, or in Popeye’s case, not so subliminally, tried to introduce kids to the idea that eating veggies was fun. I totally experienced this first hand. My brother John and I used to watch Popeye all the time, especially on Saturday mornings. I feel pretty certain that if we ate spinach at all, it was because Popeye thought it was cool (therefore it must have been, right?). I really miss those days.

“I yam what I yam!” Or in the context of this post, “You are what you eat.” If you are indeed what you eat Popeye was made of all these things, just to name a few: so much Vitamin A and Vitamin K, Vitamin C, calcium, magnesium, and zinc. And to boot, one cup of raw spinach (think salad) has only seven tiny baby calories and zero cholesterol or saturated fat. Spinach really packs a huge nutritional punch. See what I did there? No wonder Olive Oyl loved him. Shoot, I love him. Can we get a modern day Popeye up in here for all my single girls?

Now, I must say, unless you’re making spinach and artichoke dip or something like that, canned spinach is gross. Sorry, Popeye. Spinach can be a little finicky to grow but almost every single grocery store, in America anyway, sells fresh spinach in the produce department. This is my baby spinach plant that really hasn’t even grown into toddler spinach yet. I was not lying when I said it can be finicky.

If you’re in need of a super simple spinach recipe to try, try this one. It’s a great side dish recipe for both spinach lovers and apprehensive spinach eaters. And in my opinion simple is almost always the way to go. In parting, I’ll leave you with this serious thought for the day: AC thinks I look like Olive Oyl. See any resemblance?

Even if you do, at least my feet aren’t as big as hers. I’ve got that going for me! Now, if only he had muscles like Popeye ;)

2 responses »

  1. Don’t hold your breath waiting for Andrew to get muscles. You and Olive Oyl are both lean and have dark hair. Maybe that’t what Andrew is seeing. Very nice pictures.

Leave a Reply

