Tis the Season!

Standard

Strawberry season, that is! I f-ing love strawberry season. So much so that I use the real expletive in my head. This morning I woke up earlier than normal just to make sure I got to the market early so I could stock up on these babies since the season is only about two weeks long. It was even raining. But did I let that stop me? NOPE. I make things happen. These are the berries from Rose’s Berry Farm up in Glastonbury.

What do I plan to do with all these strawberries, you ask? That’s a fair question. My friend, Ahna, and I have a jam plan. The goal is to buy as many fresh strawberries as possible (because they taste exponentially better than store bought berries) and freeze them until we both have time to do some canning. I’ll have to channel my inner grandma for this task but I’m pretty pumped about it. Plus, I’ll finally be able to say, “Oh sorry, can’t be there, I have a jam sesh today.” Since I’m not musically inclined at all, this is likely the only time I’ll be able to say that.

Beautiful, right?? Aside from the jam plan, there are SO many things you can do with these amazing berries. You can make good ole fashioned strawberry shortcake, smoothies, homemade ice cream, strawberry sauce for your ice cream, strawberry and balsamic salad dressing, and of course you can just eat them alone. I also make an amazing vegan strawberry cupcake that will make my score at the farmers’ market feel right at home. So delicious. You should go grab some fresh picked strawberries. Although, I wouldn’t recommend going to the market I went to this morning since by now they miiiiight be gone.

Strawberry Bobblehead Bliss :)

PS – I’ll be sure to post pictures of my jam sesh. That should be entertaining. Happy Weekend!

2 responses »

  1. I’m a huge fan of those delicious berry’s. I sometimes put them in my daily morning smoothies with a pear or apple, granola, a few cubes of ice (because I like it cold) and some almond milk. Yummy for my tummy.

Leave a Reply

