Sexy Sticks

Standard

Get your head out of the gutter, I’m talking about asparagus. I know, I know. This sounds like it’s going to be as entertaining as watching white paint dry with your most annoying relative. But it won’t be! I’ll tell you why asparagus is sexy.

1. It has such a cool growth pattern.

  • Although it takes about 3 years to grow before its first harvest, an asparagus plant can continue to produce stalks for 10-20 years. Did you know that?? That just amazes me. Before I learned this I kinda thought that Michelle Duggar was the only thing that produced for up to two decades. One of the gardeners in our community garden grows asparagus in her plot so I’m lucky enough to show you a true to life picture that I took just yesterday. It’s a little difficult to see because of the asparagus “fern” growing around it but it just grows straight out of the ground like this:

2. It is really good for you.

  • Asparagus has loads of calcium, fiber, folic acid, magnesium, vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin K, and potassium. And that isn’t even the full list! I just stopped because I promised this would be entertaining. It even has some protein so stop asking me where I get my protein from! Just kidding, you can ask me whatever you want :)

3. It spruces up ANY plate and makes you look like a domestic super star.

  • This is a fact. Asparagus makes your dinner look like the P. Diddy (or whatever he goes by these days) of your dinner world. This is a dinner that I made the other night which consisted of a grilled portobello mushroom cap topped with tomato, basil, and sweet onion quinoa with a side of grilled asparagus. I’ll post that recipe later on if you want it but see how much better the plate looks because I added that sexy greenery? Even when asparagus isn’t the star it plays a great supporting role.

4. It’s so easy to prepare. Of all the ways you could prepare asparagus, this is my favorite way:

  • First, wash your asparagus and preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
  • Second, snap off the very bottom of each piece of asparagus. It tends to be very tough and the spear is much better without it.
  • Third, place all of the stalks on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and use your [clean] hands to toss everything together so each spear is coated with the flavorful additions.
  • Your last step is to bake the asparagus until you hear it sizzling in the oven. That’s what I do but if you aren’t preparing other things in the kitchen and can’t keep an ear out, bake it for about 12-15 minutes or until tender, which I guess is how normal people know when to take something out of the oven.

Asparagus is an early spring veg and it’s at the very, very end of it’s season so get your ass to the produce department or farmers’ market before it’s not anymore!

Happy Thursday! :)

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Ladies’ Night Week 2: Portabella Caps with Tomato-Basil Quinoa and Asparagus | From the Inside Out

Leave a Reply

