Calling all juice virgins, calling all juice virgins!

Standard

Remember when I said I’d post a juice recipe specifically for you beginner juicing babies? This is for you.

This juice is so fun. I call it the carrot-apple-ging spritz and I drink it out of a champagne flute. While carrot juice will never (and let’s be honest, should never) replace champagne, it’s so fun to drink this spritzer from a fancy glass. It’s like instant happy hour. Except it’s healthy. An instant happy-healthy hour, if you will.

These are the things you’ll need:

  • 4 large carrots, peeled
  • 1 large apple or 2 small-ish apples
  • 1 inch of peeled ginger (you can use less if it’s too spicy for you, it’s YOUR juice)
  • a splash or two of sparkling mineral water (again, however much you like)
The instructions for juicing are pretty simple and it rarely changes. Basically you just wash your produce, cut them if necessary, and push everything through your juicer. For this recipe, after everything has made it through your juicer, top it off with a splash of sparkling mineral water. You’ll find that this last step really lifts a flat feeling juice up to a new level. Even juice need to be encouraged to sparkle sometimes.
                                                                                                                 .
If you live here in CT and don’t have a juicer but you wanna find out if you might like it, there are a few local places that do the juicing for you. You could try Edge of the Woods where they juice pretty much anything you might want. Or green well, on Crown Street, has a daily juice (my good friend, Lauren, blogs about their most recent one here). If you make a trip to green well, give me a call, I wanna come with! If you live a little farther west of New Haven, Whole Foods in Westport has a juice bar too.
                                                                                                                  .
Regardless of where you get your juice, the last step, as usual, is to enjoy what you’ve made. You can take notes from me if you wish.

.

.

As a gift to you for following the blog, I present this picture to you to use if you’re in need of blackmail materials against me. If there were a health food super hero, she’d use carrots as claws. It’s a fact.

4 responses »

  1. Um, how cute you are? For real, you are making me this when I come over. Not because I can’t do it on my own, but because I want you to do it Health Food Superhero style. I’ll bring the cape.

  2. I’m loving your blog my quirky girl. I am trying to incorporate healthier food in our diets but Jim is addicted to sugar esp. chocolat (and not the dark kind). Ugh!

Leave a Reply

