And They Blossomed

Standard

“Some things are meant to be. Take my hand, my whole life too. For I can’t help but falling in love with you”  – Elvis Presley, Can’t Help Falling in Love

Today, May 21, is my parents 30th wedding anniversary and this post is a tribute to that. Growing a garden is nice and all but growing a family and a relationship like my parents have is truly an amazing thing. While others have grown apart, gone through divorces, and had to search for what’s next, my parents have managed to keep moving forward together. 33 years ago they found each other and they’ve kept sight of each other since. Some things are meant to be.

“If you believe in love, let’s get it on. Let’s get it onnnnn.”  – Marvin Gaye, Let’s Get It On

Aaaannnd enter yours truly. And then a baby brother. And for good measure let’s throw another baby brother in too. As parents, they have been supportive, encouraging, and honest. Of course, there have been times when we um, disagreed. Like the time I was allowed to cut the grass with the riding mower and ran that sucker into a brick wall. Fail. Or the time I didn’t speak to them for 3 days because they wouldn’t let me get my ears pierced. Ah, how pleasant I must have been. But to this day, I call my dad for support on a plethora of things. Career advice, financial questions, what kind of oil I should put in my car, you get the picture. He always has an answer. I still run ideas by him and I count on him for unparalleled  honest opinions. And once every few days (errr, maybe more often, sorry mom!) I’ll call my mom for advice on something. From getting stains out, to how to season a cast iron skillet (which I used last night, by the way), and most importantly she gives the best friendship and relationship advice. I absolutely would not be who I am today without them. Fights and all.

“Many times I’ve thought to leave but I bite my lip and turn around, ’cause you’re the warmest thing I’ve ever seen.”  – Rod Stewart, You’re in My Heart

I’m so proud of my mom and dad. I’ve never been married but everyone knows marriage is tough, that’s no secret. I’ve seen them struggle and fight. I’ve been in the car on the way to church when no one speaks to each other. Unless you didn’t go to church, you’ve experienced this. If you try to tell me that hasn’t happened in your family, you’re lying! They live a real life and I know it hasn’t been easy along their journey. They’ve owned a successful business for over 20 years and they see each other every single day at work and every single night at home. There have been days, months, probably even years that were difficult for them. So far, the good and the great have outweighed the worst of the worst and that is why I am able to write this today. I can’t even begin to express how thankful I am that they stuck it out and turned around instead of walking away.

“Two hearts that beat as one, our lives have just begun. I’ve found in you my endless love.”  -Lionel Richie, Endless Love

I don’t know what the future holds, that’s the beauty of this life. But what I do know is that in each other, they’ve found an endless love. In this relationship, what they’ve created are the fruit of their labors, the result of hard work and sacrifice, and real growth. And it’s true love. It really is.

Mama and Daddy, I love you. I am proud of you. I am inspired by you. And I’ll be sitting right here, taking notes.

6 responses »

  1. That was very touching. Congrats to your parents. Jim and I will celebrate our 29th anniversary in June. Sometimes marriage is hard work but at the end of the day it is wonderful to have someone who shares your past, present and future.

Leave a Reply

