Introducing the most refreshing green juice ever!

Standard

I just wanted to send a quick little juice recipe your way. I wasn’t going to post about juice for a while but this one is SO delicious I had to do it. It might even be my new favorite. It’s perfect for summertime and I highly recommend that you try it at least once!

What you’ll need:

  • Handful or two of kale
  • Handful or two of swiss chard or collard greens
  • 1 cucumber, peeled
  • 1/4 of a large fennel bulb with the top trimmed off (or 1/2 of a medium fennel bulb)
  • 1/4 of ripe pineapple
  • 1 lime
  • A few mint leaves (I like a lot)

Push all ingredients through your juicer, add ice, and enjoy. My friend Brian added a green apple to this recipe for a little extra juice and said that was delicious too. So if you need more juice, go for it.

Let me do a little ingredient spotlight here on the fennel. Fennel is one of those vegetables that automatically prompts the majority of people to claim they don’t like it. I was certainly that way. I don’t even know if I had ever even had fennel before this past spring but I just knew I didn’t like it. Wrooongggg. If you’ve had fennel in the past month and you’re positive you don’t like it, fine. But if you can’t remember the last time you had it keep an open mind and give it another shot! It reminds me a little of licorice (which I actually don’t like) but fennel’s flavor is much more subtle than that licorice candy you’re probably thinking of right now. It works amazingly well with the mint and pineapple in this recipe.

In other fennel news, if you don’t have a juicer and can’t make this recipe, try this salad I wrote about a while back. I think it’s amazing and every person I’ve served it to agrees. Happy juicing and/or salad making!

2 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on From the Inside Out and commented:
    So I need to apologize for leaving you guys hanging for so long! It has been quite the busy week! Between starting a new job and family visiting, my blog has been a little neglected :( Many many apologies. But! Here is an awesome post by JJ about one of my favorite juices to date! It is an awesome summer drink so try it out and let me know how you like it! Thanks for the awesome juice idea JJ!

Leave a Reply

