Corn, Edamame, Avocado, and Sesame Salad

Standard

Longest title ever, I know. This is the recipe I promised last week in my “things I’ll eat after my cleanse” post. This recipe is my slightly altered version of a recipe I found in a cookbook called Veganomicon. The original version of this recipe suggested the avocados as an optional addition but I think this salad is lacking without it, so it’s a must. I altered a few other things to make it my own, which is something you can certainly do as well. I originally wrote this post for a new health and wellness blog, One Life Well, but I thought you’d want the recipe too :) 

This recipe is satisfying on so many levels. First, it’s easy. It takes less than 20 minutes to prepare this salad and the only cooking skill required is knowing how to boil water. You’re welcome. Second, it’s healthy. There isn’t one ingredient in this dish that I wouldn’t feed to my most loved friends and family (and myself!). And third, it is so delicious. Some of the most delicious foods are the simplest and to me, this one is perfect. Enjoy this salad as a side dish to your favorite Asian inspired meal or eat it on its own for a snack or light meal. I usually just keep eating it til it’s gone. Terrible. But that’s how good it is!

 

The Recipe

  • 1 1/2 cups of fresh corn, or frozen corn, thawed
  • 2 cups of frozen, shelled edamame (non-GMO, of course!)
  • 1-2 ripe avocados, cut into small pieces
  • 2 Tablespoons toasted sesame seeds
  • 2 Tablespoons of toasted sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoons of soy sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon of rice vinegar
  • A sprinkle of crushed red chili flakes
  • A sprinkle of garlic powder (optional)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

For the dressing: Whisk together the sesame oil, rice vinegar, and soy sauce. Set aside. If you can’t find toasted sesame oil, don’t worry! Extra virgin olive oil works just fine in this recipe.

For the salad: Bring a medium sized pot of water to a boil. Add the frozen edamame and boil for about 2 or 3 minutes. Add the frozen corn to the pot and boil for another 2 minutes. Pour the corn and edamame into a strainer and rinse with cold water. In a bowl, combine the corn, edamame, avocado, dressing, and toasted sesame seeds. Season with salt, pepper, chili flakes, and garlic powder if you prefer it. Cover the salad and allow the flavors to meld together in the refrigerator for 10-15 minutes. Be sure to serve this salad as soon as possible, as the avocados will turn brown not long after being removed from their skins.
                                                                                                                    .

Note on sesame seeds: Usually sesame seeds are sold raw but toasting them is a piece of cake! Just add the required amount to a dry skillet (no oil) and turn the heat to medium. Keep the seeds moving by stirring them or shaking the skillet until you see that they’re a more golden brown color and you begin to smell them, about 3 or 4 minutes.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I have!

One response »

Leave a Reply

