I wish I may, I wish I might…

Standard

This is a little joke post that I decided to write so I can make a visual list of some of the things I plan on eating/cooking next week when I’m done cleansing. Ok fine it’s not a joke post at all. I really will make all of these things. I do realize that the purpose of a cleanse is to rid your body of junk but hear me out! These things aren’t terrible. They’re delicious and if I’ve said it once I’ve said it a hundred times, healthy can be delicious. If you know what’s good for ya you’ll be around when I whip these babies up!

1. Veg Pizza

  • Now I know pizza doesn’t sound healthy but this pizza is. The crust is homemade with whole wheat, organic flour. The sauce is organic and local. And then to top that off, its sprinkled with soy-based cheese and loads of fresh veg. If you’re not on a plant-based diet, you could always add your favorite real cheese to this pizza. Everything is fixable! My friend Lauren blogs about this pizza here.

Photo courtesy of L. Bennett 

2. Corn, Edamame, Avocado, and Toasted Sesame Salad
  • This.salad.is.so.good. And it’s so simple I can’t even stand it. It’s light yet filling, flavorful, fresh, and like I already said it’s easy to prepare. It’s perfect for when you’re in a rush or want to throw together something to take to work the next day. I will certainly post about it within the next week so you can have the recipe too!

3. Pesto Hummus

  • I’ve really been craving the creaminess of hummus. But I’ve also been craving that one-of-a-kind basil flavor too. My solution? Pesto Hummus. It’s really easy to make your own hummus and your own pesto so next week when I make it, I’ll post the recipe with some pictures for you. In the meantime, here’s a look at my hydro basil. Soon he’ll sacrifice his life, or at least his leaves, to be a part of something greater. Don’t let him fool you, he’s happy about fulfilling his purpose :)

4. Strawberry Cupcakes

  • These babies are amaaaazzzzing. They were one of the first animal product-free cupcakes I learned to make and they’re still my favorite. These were also the first cupcakes I ever sold to someone. Since it’s still strawberry season (barely) these will taste extra amazing.

Photo courtesy of L. Bennett

See, those things aren’t too bad! All animal product free, mostly plant-based, healthy (aside from sugar in the cupcakes), and oh so delicious. Lucky for you there’s always a seat at my kitchen table. Well, if there actually isn’t a seat, you can have mine! :)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

