Juice, juice, juice. And then more juice!

Standard

Well good morning! Aside from my morning juice and the water I am perpetually sipping, I’m writing to you on an empty stomach. The last food I ate was on Saturday evening. Why, you ask? Because I’m doing a juice cleanse! For each of the five days I’m on this cleanse (Sunday til Thursday) I’ll have about 96oz of fresh vegetable and fruit  juices, lots of water, and no food. My mama and my good friend Lauren are doing it with me so at least I have support!

My wonderful friend Brian is on his 70-something day of a just juice fast. Yeah, that’s right, no solid food for over 70 days. He says he feels amazing. And he’s lost almost 60 pounds so he’s looking amazing too. He was certainly my inspiration in doing this. I’m not in it to lose weight because I feel fine where I am but all of the other benefits of a juice cleanse really make it worth doing. Plus sometimes I just like to test my will power.

Right about now (or maybe even during the first paragraph) you’re probably thinking I’ve gone a little crazy. I get that. It’s hard to imagine just not eating. So to ease your “JJ has gone crazy” thoughts, I’ve made a list of a few of the key benefits of a juice fast:

  • Recharge your metabolism
  • Boost your digestive and immune systems
  • Revitalize, detoxify, and energize your body
  • Healthy skin, hair and nails
  • Weight loss

I’m  not really going into great detail about all of the benefits but when I was researching juice cleanses I found this really informative post about it online. Definitely read it! After you finish reading this, of course.

In my quest to find the most delicious juices, I’ve discovered the perfect summertime juice. It’s refreshing, hydrating, and it makes you want to come back for more (even if you can eat real food!). I call it the minty cucumelon and it’s pink!

For this juice, you’ll need a few cups of cut up watermelon, one cucumber, and however many mint leaves you like. Throw them all in your juicer and deliciousness comes out.

Even the boyfriend liked it, which means you should try it :)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

